Everesting Pretoria

So I decided to do this Everesting thing…… Started 12:15 on Saturday morning.  Perfect weather. There is a small climb near my house which I chose to do it on.  It helps if something happens i.e. technical or puncture or helps with the rest periods and food. Also, peeing in someone’s garden at 2am normally is not an issue and only you know about it.  Doing it at 2pm…..people tend to point and laugh and draw guns and stuff.

I wanted to do it in a day’s time.  24 hours. This hill was as close as it was going to get with a total accent of 47m according to Strava (little more on the Garmin) and a distance of around 800m. Long story short, took me 18 hours 40 minutes to complete my challenge (15:10 riding time) Total accent of 9000m reached.

My Strava File:  https://app.strava.com/activities/283650609
Ave Watts:  165
NP:  227
Distance:  308km
Time:  18:40:45
Accent:  9259 (Garmin/TP calc)
TSS:  818

Nou ja…..on the Hells500 Wall of Fame so I am happy….

Nutrition wise, I have done a bottle of water and a bottle of USN Epic pro every 3-4 hours.
Eggs on toast 5am, Noodles 1pm , Protein shake 12pm
I should have eaten something with substance at around 4pm but I was so tired and did not think about food in any way. Introduced a coke and a chocolate at 5pm and my wheels came off.  Nauseous and just feeling very bad in general.  Pushed through but it was a stupid mistake.

Bike behaved very well. Cannondale, Campy, Campy wheel set.  The Stages power meter did not hick-up once. Punctured at 1am. I charged my Garmin 1000 with a Amped charger – It was able to charge 20% for 15min plugged in when I stopped for food and the best was it did not switch off when I plugged it in which is one of the requirements to complete the challenge. Also very important was the pants. .  No issues with my Assos S7 bib.  It was worth every cent.  No saddle sores.  No chafing, nothing.
Perfect
Hall of Fame:  http://www.everesting.cc/hall-of-fame/

IMG_4360

Everest Veloviewer

Leave a comment